Dealing with difficult co-workers

We all know someone who has left a job because of that one person who made life a living hell at work. I am here to try and give some little tips on how not to let that difficult person drive you out of your job! – Trust me when I say this, the person I work with is a living nightmare!!

Lets call the co-worker of mine Dave. Now Dave has been doing the job for a number of years before I arrived and before mine and Dave’s boss arrived at my place of work. Due to this Dave is a huge know it all or so he thinks.

A lot of people in my workplace do not like Dave because he makes their life/jobs hell even though the other people work in a completely different area/job role. When I started Dave seemed lovely and an expert in his role. I have been working there now for just over a year and Dave has made it so difficult I want to punch him on numerous occasions (of course I haven’t).

I have proved Dave wrong numerous times and tried to help when getting our job done so it is done quicker and better. I am not saying I am brilliant but I feel like as team (me, Dave and our boss) we could do really well. Dave is a lone ranger though and tries to give me all the tasks he does not want to do and when I get given jobs he wants, he comes along and takes them.

It has taken a lot of patience on my behalf to still be at this job but I see it as a way out of the city I am living in and a step to moving on to bigger and better. So tip number one is to see your current job as a stepping stone on to something bigger and better and the experience you get from persevering will give you the people skills needed to deal with another person like Dave.

Tip 2 – Talk to someone outside of the workplace! I always come home and have a rant to my boyfriend about Dave just to get it off my chest! I even sometimes sneak into the toilets to ring him just to get it off my chest so I do not explode at Dave! Trust me you will feel better for it!

Tip 3 – Just ignore Dave and do what you feel is best! My boss knows when Dave is being a D*ckhead Dave and knows if I have done a good job on a task that Dave thought he passed down to me on the sly, expecting credit for it anyway. This will reflect well if promotions are coming up!

My main tip is to never let Dave get inside your head! Always remember you are better than D*ckhead Dave, are probably much happier and liked by way more people! A job is just a job to enable you to do all the other things you love. Consider the experience you will gain by dealing with difficult co-workers and how it will help you in the future; you can even pass it down to your children and maybe other friends!

Everything life throws at you, this will help build you as a person and become happier!
XOXO

2 thoughts on “Dealing with difficult co-workers

  1. Hi Kirsty, thank you for visiting my blog. It is always good to meet young people here – your writings and fresh outlook on life are what keep my mind from degenerating into old age ramblings 😀 For a 21-tear-old your opinions appear very mature and you express yourself very well. I’m looking forward to future posts. One little tip – download a grammar & spellchecker (e.g. Grammarly) to eliminate the typos and grammar gremlins.

    Like

Leave a comment